Mistborn wax and wayne series

9.42  ·  5,984 ratings  ·  834 reviews
mistborn wax and wayne series

Mistborn: The Wax and Wayne Series: by Brandon Sanderson

4.5 stars - 4 stars for Alloy of Law, 5 stars for Shadows of Self and Bands of Mourning.

I loved this series for different reasons than loving Mistborn. It was lighter, more humorous than the first trilogy thanks to Wayne - and there were so many bits, especially in the 3rd book, that made me laugh out loud. As always, Sandersons world building and character development was incredible. While in the first book Steris was off-putting, by the 3rd book I was rooting for her and LOVING her involvement.

Thoughts on each book:
The Alloy of Law was solid, but not quite fully developed. I felt like it was lacking a little.

The ending of the Shadows of Self had me SOBBING. Oh, Sanderson, why do you have to break my heart!? EVERY TIME the Sanderson Avalanche gets me.

Bands of Mourning had fully developed the characters and I was thoroughly invested. I didnt think I could fall in love with characters like I did with Vin & Elend from the 1st trilogy, but I did again with Wax, Wayne, Marasi, Steris, and others (will not name for fear of small spoilers). AND THE ENDING!?!? AH!!!! (I went on to read Mistborn: A Secret History, which, is incredibly illuminating for those of you still wanting more!)

Why do I have to wait so long for the next book to come out!?! I guess Ill just re-read the series. And start the Stormlight Archives.
File Name: mistborn wax and wayne series.zip
Size: 69450 Kb
Published 04.01.2019

The Alloy of Law by Brandon Sanderson - Review

Oct 15, Blog. As I was developing the Cosmere, I knew I wanted a few threads to span the entire mega-sequence, which was going to cover thousands of years.
Brandon Sanderson

The Obsessive Bookseller reviews The Wax and Wayne Series

While these books are strong enough to stand on their own, readers would benefit from exploring the entire series in order of publication starting with Mistborn: The Final Empire to fully enjoy the rich history and nuances of character this saga has to offer. This spoiler-free review will focus on the Wax and Wayne series thus far as follows:. I really enjoyed this novel and thought it was a great introduction to both the new era and characters within the Mistborn saga. The characters all caught my attention right away with their interesting backstories, but Sanderson really only scratched the surface of their depth in this first book. But the tiebacks were subtle, which made them accessible to new readers of the saga. It felt like Sanderson had an absolute blast while writing it.

Mistborn is a fantasy series by Brandon Sanderson. It is a major part of the cosmere sequence and is set mostly on the Shardworld Scadrial. Brandon originally planned a "trilogy of trilogies" but this has been expanded into a number of series over various eras in the history of Scadrial. The first Mistborn trilogy chronicles the efforts of a secret group of Allomancers who attempt to overthrow a dystopian empire and establish themselves in a world covered by ash. Set about years after Era 1, the Wax and Wayne series is about the exploits of Waxillium Ladrian , a "wild-west Deputy" forced to move into the big city, and starts investigating kidnappings and robberies.

It features Waxillium Ladrian, a noble that became a lawman in The Wild West -esque Roughs returning to his home in the city of Elendel to try and settle down. His attempts at the quiet life are quickly foiled, however, by the return of his old friend Wayne, his own internal desire to do the right thing, and the appearance of a mysterious group of thieves called "The Vanishers". Now, Wax, Wayne and newcomer Marasi Colms must team up to solve crimes and save the city. However, the Vanishers are only just the beginning of a much deeper conspiracy Originally conceived while Sanderson was taking a break from working on the last volumes of The Wheel of Time as a writing exercise, the story quickly grew beyond its planned scope, and was deemed suitable for publishing as a fully-fledged novel.


[Spoilers] Thoughts On Current Wax & Wayne Mistborn Books

Three hundred years afterthe events of the Mistborn trilogy, Scadrial is now on the verge of modernity,with railroads to s. Three hundred years afterthe events of the Mistborn trilogy, Scadrial is now on the verge of modernity,with railroads to supplement the canals, electric lighting in the streets andthe homes of the wealthy, and the first steel-framed skyscrapers racing for theclouds. Waxillium Ladrian, a rareTwinborn, can Push on metals with his Allomancy and use Feruchemy to becomelighter or heavier at will. After twenty years in the Roughs, Wax has beenforced by family tragedy to return to the metropolis of Elendel. Now he mustreluctantly put away his guns and assume the duties and dignity incumbent uponthe head of a noble house.


  1. Sol B. says:

    From #1 New York Times bestsellingauthor Brandon Sanderson, the Mistborn: Wax & Wayne series is a heist storyof political intrigue and magical, martial-arts.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *